Skip to content

The Hottie and the Nottie

April 24, 2010

Director: Tom Putnam
Writers: Heidi Ferrer
Producers: Hadeel Reda
Starring: Paris Hilton/Joel David Moore/Christine Lakin
Year: 2008
Country: US
BBFC Certification: 12
Duration: 91 minutes

Nate moves to L.A. to track down Cristabel, the woman he’s been in love with since childhood, only to discover that his plan to woo her only has one hurdle to overcome: what to do with June, Cristabel’s ever-present, not-so-hot best friend? What’s even more complicating is Nate’s growing feelings for June, whose true beauty starts to emerge.

That’s not hot!

Wow! This definitely takes the award for Worst Romantic Comedy Ever. It wasn’t anywhere near funny, it relied way too much on gross-out humour and Disaster Movie-like scenes. The characters are so one-dimensional and they say or do nothing interesting in the slightest. The story was so predictable that it actually hurt! Yes, I’m talking physical and mental pain, I was praying that there would be one thing I could say positive about this movie, I was praying for something unpredictable and surprising and interesting to happen in the movie but my prayers were never answered. The acting is absolutely rubbish, Paris Hilton has done a diabolical job in pretending to be the friend who cares for her ‘not-so-hot’ friend and all of the actors failed to make you believe their characters. I think somebody sat down with a pen and paper, thought of all the romantic comedy clichés they could think of, wrote them down and plonked them in this movie without a care. If you value your senses and you don’t want a bad taste left in your mouth, heed my warning and don’t watch this movie.

I’m sitting here at my desk right now trying to think very hard of something positive to say. Alas, I fail to do so because I really can’t see anything good about this movie. Everything was complete trash and it wasn’t even funny! People who love Paris Hilton and girls who want to be her would probably love this movie but for me, this was just really bad. I’ve seen some really bad movies in my time but this is definitely somewhere in my top ten worst movies ever. Paris Hilton may be many things but an actress she is not!

0/10
I just can’t believe someone actually allowed this to be released and then have the nerve to charge hard earned money for it! It’s diabolical, one big mess of a movie.

Leave a Reply

