Skip to content

Sister Act

March 21, 2010

Director: Emile Ardolino
Writers: Joseph Howard (a.k.a. Paul Rudnick)
Producers: Scott Rudin/Teri Shwartz
Starring: Whoopi Goldberg/Maggie Smith/Kathy Najimy/Wendy Makkena
Year: 1992
Country: US
BBFC Certification: PG
Duration: 100 minutes

Whoopi Goldberg stars as Reno Lounge Singer Deloris Van Cartier, who has been put under protective custody in a San Francisco convent and has to pretend to be a nun when a mob boss puts her on his hit list. The story is surprisingly good and this movie really should have failed on so many levels yet it worked. There were about two or three plot holes but it wasn’t enough to spoil the film. The start of the movie, I felt, went too fast but towards the middle and the end, it slowed down and it was nicely paced. The direction was done okay but there were some scenes that wasn’t really needed much and felt pointless.

The acting was okay as well and the characters were in between likeable and irritating. The music is very catchy and the songs will have your toes tapping, gospel music lovers will simply adore this movie.  When I was younger and I watched this movie, I didn’t really think much of it but now that I have grown up and I have watched it again, I liked it and I also thought Whoopi Goldberg was great playing her character in the movie.

Two other actresses I didn’t notice much was Kathy Najimy who played the zany Sister Mary Patrick and Wendy Makkena who played the shy Sister Mary Roberts, I thought they both played their characters very well which resulted in a few laughs in the movie. I’m not a religious guy and I don’t believe in any religion but I really liked this movie and I’m sure there are other non-believers who will like this too.

7/10

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

