Skip to content

The Hurt Locker

March 11, 2010

Director: Kathryn Bigelow 
Writers:
Mark Boal
Producers: Kathryn Bigelow/Mark Boal/Nicholas Chartier/Greg Shapiro 
Starring: Jeremy Renner/Anthony Mackie/Brian Geraghty/Ralph Fiennes/Evangeline Lilly
Year:
2009
Country: US
BBFC Certification: 15
Duration: 103 minutes

After winning six Oscars and six BAFTAs, both including Best Picture and Best Director to Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker has gotten quite a bit of attention. I was preparing myself for something spectacular but in the end, I was shockingly quite disappointed. Forced to play a dangerous game of cat-and-mouse in the chaos of war, an elite Army bomb squad unit must come together in an Iraqi city where everyone is a potential enemy and every object could be a deadly bomb. The movie itself was a good movie but it’s nowhere near great. Yeah, the scenes were good to watch and they had the whole tense ‘bomb-disarming’ scenes throughout most of the movie and a fantastic sniper battle but there was very little character development. However, the acting was great and very believable.

Great cinematography and camerawork make the movie realistic but sometimes the camera was shaking too much to try and bring that realistic effect to screen. The direction is good in some scenes but the screenplay and dialogue was below average. The biggest flaw of The Hurt Locker is how there was hardly any plot or story, it was just a bunch of scenes thrown in. It’s basically ‘move over here, disarm a bomb, move over there, disarm a bomb’ and doesn’t change much throughout the movie (except for that great sniper battle which is probably the only memorable scene).

The Hurt Locker is good but I can’t see why it won so many awards, especially for Best Picture. Don’t get me wrong, I liked it but it didn’t deserve all the accolades it received. I will be the first to admit that I did have expectations for this movie considering the amount of awards it picked up at the BAFTAs and Oscars but at the end, I felt a little disappointed. I was expecting something to blow my mind like the way Avatar or Precious: Based on the novel PUSH by Sapphire did with its directing, storytelling and its acting but there isn’t really a story to be told. The Hurt Locker is a seriously overhyped movie, it didn’t deserve Best Picture as it wasn’t that great. The award should have gone to Precious: Based on the novel PUSH by Sapphire or Avatar.

6/10

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joe permalink
    July 22, 2010 8:23 pm

    Only memorable scene? What about the man with the explosives strapped to him? The child with – well, lets not spoil it. I thought it was a great movie. Most films that win a shed-load of awards are going to be branded as “over-hyped” and not living upto the bill. I agree, I thought it would be better than it was for all the awards it got but take away any of that and judge it on what you see and for me it stands as a gripping and tense movie that never really comes across as unrealistic and “hollywood”. I’d go a little higher than 6 for sure. Went on a tad too long tho.

    • July 24, 2010 9:32 pm

      Don’t get me wrong, Joe, I did enjoy it and I thought it was a good movie but it’s too hyped and it’s not the best movie I have ever seen. Yes there were some great scenes and the sniper battle was fantastic but there were a couple of unrealistic things in the movie, however it doesn’t spoil it. I don’t mind movies winning awards if it has the quality to back up on but The Hurt Locker just wasn’t that fantastic. It’s good but not fantastic.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment, Joe!

Leave a Reply

