Skip to content

Paranormal Activity

January 25, 2010

Director: Oren Peli
Writer: Oren Peli 
Producers: Steven Schneider/Jason Blum
Starring: Katie Featherston/Micah Sloat 
Year: 2009
Country: US
BBFC Certification:
15
Duration: 99 minutes

I first heard of this movie when I was reading the newspaper and I saw how much attention it got over America so I looked it up online and saw it was "The scariest movie ever made" and "You won’t be able to sleep" and I thought, just like every other advertisement or review for a horror movie, that they would be wrong. Well this time, I am glad to say that I was wrong. The story takes place with the two characters named Micah and Katie (the actor’s real names) who move into their new home in California only to find out sooner rather than later, things start to go bump in the night. Paranormal Activity is one of the most scariest horror movies to have graced our screens in 2009. When I say ‘scariest’, I mean jump-scares. It’s also a brilliant atmosphere watching it in the dark with the audience behind you, scared.

The actors were brilliant as was the cast and crew. The actor and actress who use their real names didn’t know when the jumpy parts were about to happen themselves when filming so what you see is actually genuine, which I loved as it made it so much more believable. The dark and paranormal feel of the movie was definitely there and, though you knew when the scary parts were coming (timestamp in the corner), you were still spooked.

The story is very well written for a low-budget movie and the special effects were brilliant and used in the correct times. This movie, unsurprisingly, beats half of the movies that have been released last year. Well done to the cast and crew, they should be proud of this movie.

7/10

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 9:08 pm

    I don’t know. I’m not sure it lived up to the hype, but it was certainly better than 90% of the horror movies out there. “Less is more” is always the way to go when it comes to horror. Read my review here: http://ribsramblings.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

